Past Preseident & Fellow Norm Scott (second from left) stands ready to award the winners, while BSGRA committee chair Kaushlendra Singh (far right) looks on.

2017 Winners

PhD Category
1st Place
Joe Sagues, University of Florida, Production of Phenolic Monomers and Free Sugars from Sweet Sorghum Bagasse via Fenton Modification and Supercritical Ethanol

2nd Place
Abhisesh Silwal, Washington State University,  Design, Integration, and Field Evaluation of a Robotic Apple Harvester

3rd Place
Nuwan K. Wijewardane, University of Nebraska - Lincoln,  An Integrated VNIR Penetrometer System for High Resolution Vertical Soil Sensing

MS Category
1st Place
Ryan McGehee, Auburn University,  Benchmarking Reliable Erosion Indices from Quarter-hour Station Data for Climate Studies in the Southeastern United States

2nd Place
Katlyn DeVoe, Iowa State University, Comissioning of a Segmented Wand for Evaluating Airflow Performance of Fans in Livestock and Poultry Housing

3rd Place
Chongyuan Zhang, Washington State University, Development of Automated High-Throughput Phenotyping System of Controlled Environment Studies

Past Winners

The Competition
The Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award is to recognize excellence in the conduct and presentation of research to build the knowledge base needed by engineers who design equipment, facilities, and processes for the sustainable operation of a biological system.

Contestants are required to be a member of ASABE.

The Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award consists of a written competition, and an oral competition held during the ASABE Annual International Meeting. Judges will select three M.S. finalists and three Ph.D. finalists from the written competition who will then be invited to present their research before judges at a scheduled technical session held during the ASABE Annual International Meeting. The six finalists' meeting registration will be waived.

Cash prizes of $500, $300, and $200 will be awarded to the top three finishers in each category after the meeting.

 Entry Form and include with paper entry.

2. Organization of Paper - Students are advised to adhere to the following guidelines when preparing their research paper entries:

a. Organization of the research paper must conform to the guidelines published by ASABE for refereed journals. Access the Author's Guide for information concerning Author's Guide and Journal Manuscript Submission & Formatting.

b. The entire research paper entry, including all figures, list of references and appendices, must not exceed 20 pages.

c. Some graphics (figures and tables) do not print or download well so students are encouraged to produce their graphics in black -and -white format.

3. Submit entry form and research paper as a PDF file. It is the entrant's responsibility to verify that the converted file appears as intended. Send to  the Awards Administrator

4. Scoring - Click here to see the judging criteria and allocation of points.

5. Panel of Judges - Three judges shall select a chair from among their number. The Chair will collect the scores from all judges, determine the top three papers by averaging the scores, and send the list to the ASABE Awards Administrator. These authors will be notified that they are among the top three papers and are accepted to compete in the oral portion of the competition to determine placements.

Rules and Scoring for the Oral Competition
1. Finalists - The three M.S. finalists and the three Ph.D. finalists will present their research before judges at a scheduled session during the ASABE Annual International Meeting. This session will be open to the public. The session will be chaired by the P-122 Chair, or his/her designee. Finalists will be allowed 15 minutes for the presentation. The chair may announce a short question and answer session at the end of each presentation to allow the presenter the opportunity to respond to one or two questions from the audience.

2. Scoring - Click here to see the judging criteria and allocation of points.

Final Ranking
The Chair of the Judges will average the scores for the written and oral competitions and submit the first, second, and third place winners to the Chair of P-122 and the Awards Administrator.

At the ASABE Annual International Meeting, the P-122 Boyd-Scott Graduate Research Award committee will select three judges for each competition (M.S. and Ph.D.) for the following year's competition. Diversity in research interest and geographic location is required.

A list of alternate judges will be maintained such that the Chair can replace a judge if they must disqualify themselves due to a conflict of interest. It is the responsibility of the Chair to coordinate with the membership and have a slate of nominees for judges who have agreed to serve. This slate is approved at the Annual Meeting for the next year's competition.

Judges may serve up to three consecutive years.

Judges must disqualify themselves from the evaluation of any paper submitted by a student from a university where the judge is employed as a faculty member, or any student they have supervised in employment or graduate work. In the case of a disqualification, the average of the scores by the remaining judges shall be the score assigned.

For the current competition, all entries must be submitted via e-mail to  the Awards Administrator.